Whoa Actual Life Sketches!

My rut of unspiration is finally beginning to break I think. I recently read a few more pages of The Creative License by Danny Gregory too, and the urge to draw and paint is returning, so there should be more than monstahs being posted here again.

I recently came across the blog of Pete Scully. You should really check out his site, as his sketches are great.  I really like the way he frames them, so i decided to give it a shot.

This first one here is of a little utility building at the park near my house. I’ve wanted to sketch for a long time, so as I was walking by it this evening I decided to to ahead and do it. The door of this shed is probably only 3.5 or 4 feet tall, with super rusty hinges. I’d love to know what’s inside…

park_lasalle_march_25_web

It’s only the second page of a new small size moleskine, and the page was a bit wavy. It took a bit to get used to that. Overall I think it turned out ok. I used a pentel slicci to draw it.

When I got home I popped Zoolander in my dvd player and then instead of watching it I listened to it as I drew the leg of the table my tv sits on.

table_leg_march_25_web

I used another frame on this one. I’ll definitely be using them more in the future, they give a nice boundary to work in, that lets me see an end, almost like a goal. the sketch looks a lot more finished too, and it forces me to think about composition, which is something i need to work on more.

4 thoughts on “Whoa Actual Life Sketches!

  1. It was a bit chilly, but bearable. I don’t know how long it took, maybe 20 or 30 minutes, I suppose. I was just happy to be drawing outside for the first time this year 😀

Leave a Reply

